Partners for Student Success Careers  /  Staff Directory  /  Staff Login  /  Frontline
Special School District of St. Louis County

Public Review Committee

A Public Review Committee (PRC) has used the findings from its review of Special School District (SSD) to develop 13 recommendations to support the continuous improvement of the delivery of special education services to students in St. Louis County.

“The PRC spent countless hours conducting a thorough review of the District,” said SSD Superintendent Don Bohannon. “We appreciate the committee’s commitment to creating meaningful recommendations that will help the District improve its services to students.”

State legislation approved in 1996 – Senate Bill 687 – requires that a Public Review Committee be appointed every four years to review the operations of SSD and to make recommendations for improvement. Areas of review included SSD's structure, governance, administration, financial management, delivery of services, and cooperation with partner school districts.

The District had already begun working on some of the recommendations, which are included in SSD’s District Comprehensive School Improvement Plan (CSIP), Bohannon said. Other recommendations will be reviewed to determine how best to incorporate them into the District’s goals and strategies, he said.

This is the sixth PRC appointed since the legislation was enacted. Reports were issued by five previous committees in 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014.
Michelle Shockley and students

Public Review Committee Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Click here to view an archive of PRC meeting agendas and minutes.

Public Review
Committee Members

The PRC has nine members who are selected by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), the SSD Governing Council and the SSD Parent Advisory Council (PAC).

Members of the 2017-2018 PRC and the body by which each was appointed are listed below.

DESE Appointees:

  • Mr. Larry Felton
  • Dr. Donette Green
  • Dr. Craig Larson

Governing Council Appointees:

  • Ms. Kisha Lee
  • Ms. Jennifer Miller
  • Dr. Brenda Youngblood

Parent Advisory Council Appointees:

  • Ms. Christina Blankenship
  • Dr. Tina Hamilton
  • Ms. Veronica Leach

Contact SSD  /  Accessibility  /  RFPs  /  Public Notices  /  Site Map   /  E-news

12110 Clayton Rd, Town & Country, MO 63131  /  314.989.8100  /  314.989.8552 – 711 (Missouri Relay)

Special School District of St. Louis County (SSD) is a leader in providing special education services to students with disabilities and also provides a wide range of career and technical education programs.
SSD logo
Twitter Facebook
Translate this site:
Complete a survey about today's website visit